Make Donuts at Home: Easy Recipe

Hello everyone. Happy 2020! I had to take a little break from the real world for a while but here I am back again with something new for you! Since it’s the new year, I decided to be bold try something I have been wanting to for a while. Stay with me as I tell you how to make donuts at home without any fuss at all.

So my baking skills while newly acquired, have roots that go deep into my childhood. My oldest memory of attempting to bake, successfully, let me add of the time I baked brownies in school. Mind you this is a successful attempt. A not so successful attempt was me, during the same time or even before, trying to make donuts at home using a recipe that appeared in a children’s newspaper that I would read. I not so fondly remember being in the kitchen, covered in flour and other gooey things and at the end of it, my mother looking at me, wondering what she did to deserve this.

Read more: Make banana bread at home 

This memory was still very fresh in my head as I tried to make donuts at home as an adult. Maybe that’s why it took me this long. As with other things I have made, I spent a while watching various different videos to learn different tips and tricks and make any tweaks in my favor. This recipe is my absolute favourite. I have made three batches using it and it hasn’t failed me yet.

Attempt one:

Make donuts at home

Ingredients:

All purpose flour        2 cups

Caster sugar                3 tbsp

Powdered milk          1 cup

Egg                               1

Butter (softened)     3 tbsp

Yeast  (instant)         2 tsp

Lukewarm milk       ¼ cup

Water                       ¼ cup

Salt                          a pinch

Read more: Make chocolates at home

How to make:

  • Start by taking a large bowl. Don’t scoff at me while I say this. You need a bowl twice the size you think you do. Trust me on this. Sift in flour, sugar. Add in powdered milk, yeast and salt. Mix the dry ingredients together.
  • Add in butter and one beaten egg. (Tip) Be sure that all the ingredients you use are at room temperature. So leave your egg, butter flour etc outside for at least an hour.
  • Mix milk and water together and make sure they are lukewarm. Not too hot. Not too cold. (tip) this is to activate the yeast so yes it matters.
  • Add the milk and water mixture gradually to the concoction. (tip) This will ensure your batter doesn’t become too runny. You want smooth dough not pancake batter.
  • Once all the dough has come together, take it out from bowl and onto a flat surface. Knead it a little.
  • You have to knead. Use the stretch and pull method. Take at least five minutes doing this. Use your muscles and knuckles. Take out all your anger if need be. Make it a therapy session.
  • Once done, put the dough back in the bowl, cover it and leave for an hour at least to rise.
  • My house was uncontrollably cold when I was working on my dough so I had to leave it longer.
  • Once you see that dough has doubled in size, take it out and knead it some more.
  • Then once again cover it and leave for 15 mins to proof some more. This proofing and leaving to rise is why I have been hesitant to work with yeast in the past. However, it is necessary.
  • Once your dough is nice and fluffly, roll it out. You can use a donut cutter, I didn’t have one so I used a glass and a bottle cap for the centers.
  • When you have cut out the donuts, leave them on a tray to fluff up a little. Maybe for five minutes.
  • In a frying pan, heat oil on very low flame. Once warm enough, fry your donuts one by one until golden brown.
  • Let them cool down completely before you attempt to frost.
IMG_4330
Attempt 2

Frosting:

This is the fun part, if a little messy. Chop up some chocolate and melt in a microwave. Add some cream to make smooth silky ganache. Dip in donuts one by one and sprinkle whatever toppings you want. I had chocolate chips, bunties, sprinkles and apple jam. I wanted to do a coconut one, but sadly was out of coconut shaving. With attempt 2 I also learnt that when it comes to sprinkles less is more.

My favorite donut is the jelly filled one, so I attempted that with the apple jam I had at home. I warmed it up added a little nutmeg and cinnamon and put in a piping bag to fill in a donut without centers cut out. I then sprinkled some icing sugar on top!

Let me know if you try this recipe!

Much love!

3 thoughts on “Make Donuts at Home: Easy Recipe

  1. Thanks for sharing recipe….. I just do the easy way out and use biscuits and deep fry in grease…..then add toppings and icing.:)) i know to easy….but the kids and grandkids love them including myself:)) lol new follower here

Leave a comment