Lux Style Awards 2013 – And the nominees are.

Standard

LSA 2013 logo

It’s that time of the year again! All the television shows, music and fashion trends and styles that you were forced to witness this past year will be judged and rewarded accordingly.

The 12th Annual LUX Style Awards to be held soon have released a list of nominations in 22 categories in the field of television, music and fashion. The Nominations are mentioned below.

LUX STYLE AWARDS NOMINATIONS 2013

  • FILM NOMINATIONS

Unfortunately, the film industry in Pakistan is not very active. Last year one film was released from Pakistan ‘Bol’ which was duly nominated and won without much competition. This time however we were content watching movies from across the border and seven seas.

  • TELEVISION NOMINATIONS

Best TV Play (Satellite)

  • Humsafar on Hum TV (Producer Momina Duraid)
  • Maat on Hum TV (Producer Amna Nawaz Khan)
  • Manjali on Geo Entertainment (Producer Humayun Saeed & Shezad Naseeb)
  • Mera Yaqeen on ARY Digital (Producer Asif Raza Mir & Babar Javed)
  • Shehre Zaat on Hum TV (Producer Abdullah Kadwani, Asad Qureshi & Momina Duraid)

I think: Well I am sorry I could not watch any of the above shows, but considering how Humsafar trended on Twitter every time it was aired, I think it is probably going to win.

Best TV Actress (Satellite)

  • Hina Dilpazeer for Qudusi Sahab Ki Bewa on ARY Digital
  • Mahira Khan for Humsafar on Hum TV
  • Mahvish Hayat for Mere Qatil Mere Dildar on Hum TV
  • Saba Hameed for Manjali on Geo Entertainment
  • Saba Qamar for Maat on Hum TV

I think: Every sane living breathing human adult in Pakistan would agree with me when I say this award should go to Hina Dilpazeer. Qudusi Sahab ki Bewa is perhaps the only show I have seen and this in its own speaks volumes in its favor.

Best TV Actor (Satellite) 

  • Adnan Siddiqui for Mere Qatil Mere Dildar on Hum TV
  • Faisal Qureshi for Jahez on Geo Entertainment
  • Fawad Khan for Humsafar on Hum TV
  • Imran Aslam for Sanjha on Hum TV
  • Shahood Alvi for Mere Huzoor on Express Entertainment

I think: For this category I am going to go ahead and say Fawad Khan. Having the power to make women young and old swoon alike cannot be taken lightly.

Best TV Play (Terrestrial)

  • Mein on PTV (Producer Studio 63)
  • Mein Muhabbat aur Tum on A Plus (Producer Shehzad Chaudry)
  • Paayal on PTV (Producer Yamin Malik)
  • Qeemat on A Plus (Producer Kamran Khan)
  • Tilafi on PTV (Producer Humayun Saeed & Shahzad Naseeb)

I think: Ok I admit defeat for this category. I will take a lucky guess and say Tilafi because it sounds cool and I don’t know what it means.

Best TV Actress (Terrestrial)

  • Beenish Chohan for Chalo phir se Jee ke Dekhen on PTV
  • Fiza Ali for Love, Life aur Lahore on A Plus
  • Mahnoor Baloch for Tilafi on PTV
  • Mahvish Hayat for Mein on PTV
  • Resham for Ek Yaad Hai on A Plus

I think: This award should go to Mahnoor Baloch. Any woman who can look like her at that age deserves an award with no questions asked.

Best TV Actor (Terrestrial)

  • Babar Ali for Mein on PTV
  • Kashif Mehmood for Love, Life aur Lahore on A Plus
  • Nauman Ejaz for Qeemat on A Plus
  • Saleem Shaikh for Anokha Ladla II on PTV
  • Sami Khan for Mein on PTV

I think: The winner to me is Saleem Shaikh because puhlease he is Anokha Ladla (unique baby boy)

I honestly don’t know the difference between terrestrial and satellite television plays. All I know is that more shows now have a chance to win. See your favorite show above? It means you can no longer be judged for watching it.

Best TV Director

  • Amna Nawaz for Maat on Hum TV
  • Hassam Hussain for Durr-e Shahwar on Hum TV
  • Kashif Nisar for Mein on PTV
  • Nadeem Baig for Manjali on Geo
  • Sarmad Khoosat for Humsafar on Hum TV

I think: Haven’t we given all awards to Humsafar already?

Best TV Writer

  • Amna Mufti for Jahez on Geo
  • Faiza Iftikhar for Bilquis Kaur on Hum TV
  • Khalil-ur-Rehman for Manjali on Geo
  • Seema Munaf for Tilafi on PTV
  • Umera Ahmed for Maat on Hum TV

I think: Jahez is a laanat (curse). A show which portrays it as such has my vote.

  • MUSIC NOMINATIONS

Best Album

  • Chahar Balish by Sajjad Ali
  • Circus in the Sky by Usman Riaz
  • Khamoshi by Ayesha Omar
  • Naubahar by Dynoman
  • The Harvest by Sajid & Zeeshan

I think: Sajjad Ali is still there?

Song of the Year

  • Ankahi by Overload
  • Jaag by Jarar Malik
  • Kahani Purani by Mooroo
  • Katna Nae by Sajjad Ali
  • Pi Jaon by Farhan Saeed

I think: Pi jaon? Really dude? You talk about drinking and expect to win? I vote for Jaag (wake up) because that is something I really need to do.

Best Emerging Talent

  • Ahmed Siddiqui
  • Faaris Shafi
  • Mooroo
  • Naseer and Shahab
  • Sibti

I think: Mooroo? If that’s the name you proudly flaunt, you win!

Best Music Video Director

  • Farhad Humayun for Ankahi
  • Hammad Khan for Ane de
  • Sohaib Akhtar- for Khamoshi
  • Taimoor Salahuddin for Awam
  • Taimoor Salahuddin for Kahani Purani

I think: Ane de (let it come) for such confidence you are a declared winner.

Best Original Sound Track (OST)

  • Hain Yeh Silsilay by Zoe Viccaji for Tanhayan Naye Silsilay on ARY Digital
  • Matae Jaan by Bilal Khan for Matae Jaan on Hum TV
  • Roshan Sitara by Qurat ul Ain Baloch for Roshan Sitara on Hum TV
  • Yaar Ko Humne by  Abida Parveen for Shehr-e-Zaat on Hum TV
  • Zindagi Gulzar Hai by Ali Zafar for Zindagi Gulzar Hai

I think: Abida Parveen! No questions asked.

  • FASHION NOMINATIONS

Model of the Year (Female)

  • Amna Ilyas
  • Ayyan
  • Cybil Chowdhry
  • Mehreen Syed
  • Rabia Butt

I think: Really on the edge here. I try not to talk about pretty women for obvious reasons.

Model of the Year (Male)

  • Abbas Jafri
  • Ather Amin
  • Jahan-e-Khalid
  • Shehzad Noor
  • Waleed Khalid

I think: Abbas Jafri (Jesus) all the way! There’s something mysterious about his face behind all that ummm hair.

Best Fashion Photographer

  • Azeem Sani
  • Fayyaz Ahmed
  • Guddu Shani
  • Maha Burney & Nadir Feroz Khan at NFK
  • Rizwan ul Haq

I think: Really cannot comment. They all look the same to my untrained near sighted eye.

Best Hair and Make-up Artist

  • Creative Team at Nabila
  • Creative Team at Tariq Amin
  • Juju Haider & Shammal Quraishi at Toni&Guy, Lahore
  • Maram Azmat & Abroo Hashmi
  • Raana Khan

I think: Any artist who knows the difference between beautiful and churail.. wins. I root for Juju Haider & Shammal Quraishi at Toni&Guy.

Achievement in Fashion Design – Luxury Pret

  • Shehla Chatoor
  • Iman Ahmed at Body Focus
  • Khadija Shah at Elan
  • Maheen Karim
  • Sania Maskatiya

Achievement in Fashion Design – Pret

  • Feeha Jamshed
  • Iman Ahmed at Body Focus
  • Sanam Chaudhry
  • Sania Maskatiya
  • Wardha Saleem

I think: Wardha Saleem deserves all the praise she can get.

Best Menswear Designer

  • Ahmed Bham
  • Amir Adnan
  • Ammar Belal
  • Ismail Farid
  • Republic by Omar Farooq

I think: What makes your man look good? Since I don’t have one.. I reserve judgment.

Achievement in Fashion Design – Lawn

  • Khaadi by Khaadi
  • Mahnoush by Arjumand Amin
  • Orient by Deepak Perwani
  • Sana Safinaz by Sana Hashwani & Safinaz Muneer
  • Kamal Lawn by Elan

I think: Khaadi taught women of Pakistan how to wear color! Khaadi for the win!

Best Emerging Talent

  • Misha Lakhani (Women’s wear designer)
  • Abdullah Haris (Photography)
  • Natasha’s Salon (Hair & Make Up Artist)
  • Saima Azhar (Modeling)
  • Sana Sarfaraz (Modeling)

I think: Good luck to all.

Best High Street Brand

  • Adnan Pardesy for the Working Woman
  • Daaman
  • Gulabo
  • Khaadi
  • Rang Ja

I think: Already nominated Khaadi for the win. Therefore my personal favorite here is daaman. But I also have high hopes for Gulabo. This one will be a toughie!

Good luck to all nominees.

Press release courtesy Catalyst Pr.

10 responses »

  1. I am rooting for the following:

    Model of the Year (Female):Amna Ilyas(I like her skin color)
    Model of the Year (Male): Shahzad Noor (My fav Tabish Oza aint nominated)
    Best Fashion Photographer:Azeem Sani
    Best Hair and Make-up Artist:Creative Team at Nabila
    Achievement in Fashion Design – Luxury Pret:Iman Ahmed at Body Focus or Khadija Shah at Elan
    Achievement in Fashion Design – Pret:Iman Ahmed at Body Focus
    Best Menswear Designer:Republic by Omar Farooq
    Achievement in Fashion Design – Lawn:Khaadi by Khaadi or Sana Safinaz by Sana Hashwani & Safinaz Muneer
    Best Emerging Talent:Saima Azhar (Modeling)
    Best High Street Brand:Khaadi

    I wont be all diplomatic but if the ones I am rooting for dont win. I am gonna a bit little sad :P

  2. Having read the whole thing, I have just one thing to say Sid: It was like we were talking random about random stuff. Hahaha.

Leave a Reply

